Congress of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–3902

July 8, 2025

The Honorable Howard Lutnick Secretary Department of Commerce 1401 Constitution Ave. NW Washington, D.C. 20230 The Honorable Russell Vought Director Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street NW Washington, DC 20503

Secretary Lutnick and Director Vought,

We write to express our concerns with delays in approving the Fiscal Year 2025 (FY25) Program, Project, or Activity (PPA)-level spend plan governing regional awards for the Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS) within the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). We ask that your agencies work together to quickly review and fully approve this spend plan.

Through its work compiling and distributing data from buoys, satellites, radar stations, and other sensors, IOOS plays an important role in supporting the fishing industry, predicting extreme weather, protecting shipping, and improving our nation's military readiness. IOOS enjoys bipartisan support in Congress. The program received \$42.5 million in funding in FY25 to support its work.

While Congress appropriated \$42.5 million for IOOS in FY25 and the IOOS regional awards have been approved, allowing for regional partners to administer important core functions like buoy and radar operations, the lack of a fully approved PPA-level spend plan limits the programs' other work. In regions including the Northeast, Gulf Coast, Great Lakes, and Alaska, IOOS regional systems need the certainty of a longer-term funding plan to monitor harmful algal blooms, coordinate hurricane glider operations, enhance high-frequency radar systems, and conduct long-term biological observations. This work supports the disaster preparedness, public health, and resilience of our coastal communities.

NOAA needs to have its spend plan for IOOS fully approved by mid-July in order to make awards to support these critical functions this year. Further delays could render NOAA and regional IOOS systems unable to fully utilize these funds in FY25, running counter to congressional intent and endangering our coastal communities.

We appreciate your attention to these concerns and look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Member of Congress

Chell R_

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress



252 CANNON HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, DC 20515–3902 (202) 225–2735

Congress of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–3902

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Kimberlyn King-Hinds

Kimberlyn King-Hinds Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Hillary J. Scholten

Hillary J. Scholten Member of Congress

Frederica X Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Maggie Goollonder

Maggie Goodlander Member of Congress

D.tonler

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

N. Tokude

J**V** Tokuda Member of Congress

Kurten MSDonald Revel

Kristen McDonald Rivet Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress



252 CANNON HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, DC 20515–3902 (202) 225–2735

Congress of the United States Bouse of Representatives

Washington, **DC** 20515–3902

Fecen Bes

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Oany d. Paris

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

som

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

attehnede

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Jaun Friedra

Laura Friedman Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress



252 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515–3902 (202) 225–2735

Congress of the United States House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515–3902

Jebbie Dingel T

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Elepheth

Sarah Elfreth Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Kaskeda Glaik

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

1. quis via R.

Member of Congress

Bill Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Michael-V. Lawler Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress



252 CANNON HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, DC 20515–3902 (202) 225–2735

Congress of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–3902

Jaseph D. marelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

ble base Hom

Pablo José Hernández Member of Congress

James C. Moylan Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Bolden

fared Golden Member of Congress

Mike Horidepolas

Mike Haridopolos Member of Congress



252 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515–3902 (202) 225–2735

Congress of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–3902

Nicholas J. Begich III

Nicholas J. Begich III Congressman for All Alaska